Two plenary sessions exploring wellness and the future of the profession.

Creating a life of balance and satisfaction in a demanding legal profession

Thursday, Sept. 14 | 9 - 10:15 a.m.
1.5 MCLE (Qualifies for 1.5 ethics)
(Special thanks to our Platinum Sponsor: The Bar Plan Mutual Insurance Company, St. Louis)

Moderator/panelist: Prof. Nancy Levit, associate dean for faculty, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, Kansas City

Panel: Dr. Peter H. Huang, former professor, University of Colorado Law School, Boulder, Colorado; Dr. Ellen Ostrow, psychologist, professional certified coach, strategic talent advisor, and founding principal of Lawyers Life Coach LLC, Rockville, Maryland

This program will focus on the psychological and scientific research that lawyers can use to work toward life goals of fulfillment and happiness, as they balance the demands of a career in law. Our assembled experts will offer insights on strategies and tools that lawyers can put into practice at any career stage to find more satisfaction in their work and life.

Nancy Levit Peter Huang Ellen Ostrow

Innovation and impact on the future of the profession

Thursday, Sept. 14 | 10:30 - 11:45 a.m.
1.5 MCLE

Moderator: Mira Mdivani, Mdivani Corporate Immigration Law Firm LLC, Kansas City

Panel: Ayyoub Ajmi, director of legal innovation and technology, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, Kansas City; Prof. Ryan W. Copus, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, Kansas City; Nicole M. Fisher, Fisher Law LLC and Drama-Free Divorce LLC, Kansas City; Hon. Samuel A. Thumma, Arizona Court of Appeals, Phoenix, Arizona 

This program will explore how various kinds of innovation, including sustaining, low market and disruptive innovation, impact the future of lawyers, clients, and courts.  The panelists will discuss using new ideas and technology to improve existing practices, creating more affordable segments of the legal market, and creating new consumption of legal services and access to justice through innovation.

Mira Mdivani  Ayyoub Ajmi  Ryan Copus  Nicole Fisher  Samuel Thumma