Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award

The Family Law Section and The Missouri Bar present an annual award to honor a family law lawyer who has demonstrated an exceptional degree of competence, skill, integrity, commitment, and dedication toward the improvement and advancement of the practice of family law and the children and families involved in family law matters. The "Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award" is given in honor of Roger Krumm, a family law lawyer who possessed all the characteristics, skills, and integrity of those who receive this award.

You may use one of the following forms to make a nomination:

Nomination criteria should include:

  • Demonstrated excellence in negotiation and trial practice;
  • Participation and leadership in local and statewide family law related efforts; and
  • Demonstrated commitment to those involved and affected by family law matters.

2022 Award Recipient - Karen M. DeLuccie (posthumously) 

Karen DeLucciePrior to her death on April 12, 2022, Karen practiced family law on the Independence Square for 40 years after attending the University of Missouri – Kansas City School of Law. She was a partner in the firm Paden, Welch, Martin and Albano for 20 years. She then partnered with her husband in their firm, the DeLuccie & O’Hara Law Offices LLC, for her last 20 years.

Karen was a past president of the Eastern Jackson County Bar Association, a fellow in the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers, co-founder of the Independence Youth Court, and a mentor to numerous young lawyers. She was also a mediator and served as guardian ad litem for hundreds of children.

Karen helped author and pass the law that created the Family Court of Missouri, signed by then-Governor Mel Carnahan. The law transformed the Family Law Court system for the benefit of all parties by streamlining divorce and child custody cases.

Karen was a member of the City Council of Independence since 2014. She also served 17 years on the City of Independence Planning Commission before her election to the City Council and was a member of the Independence Square Tax Board, a trustee of Gold Bank, and for 8 years was the director of the Advanced Reading Program at her children's school.

Past Recipients of Award

2021 — Rebecca L. Leonard, Lee's Summit

2020 — James H. Young, Lee's Summit

2019 — Hon. Thea A. Sherry, St. Louis

2018 — Hon. Douglas R. Beach, Clayton

2017 — Anita Rodarte, Lee's Summit

2016 — Alan Freed, St. Louis

2015 — F. Richard Van Pelt, Springfield

2014 — Susan S. Jensen, Springfield

2013 — Ann Bauer, St. Louis

2012 — Patricia "Trish" Scaglia, Independence

2011 — Gary L. Stamper, Columbia

2010 — John S. Pratt, Jr., Springfield

2009 — Larry V. Swall, Liberty

2008 — Cary J. Mogerman, St. Louis

2007 — Allan F. Stewart, Clayton

2006 — Carla Holste, Jefferson City

2005 — Karen A. Plax, Kansas City

2004 — Michael J. Albano, Independence

2003 — Lori J. Levine, Jefferson City