Young Lawyers' Section Council Elections

The governing body for the Young Lawyers' Section is the YLS Council, which is composed of approximately 35 young lawyers elected to serve two-year terms from districts across the state. Officers and executive committee members are elected from within the ranks of the council’s membership.

The Young Lawyers’ Section Council’s bylaws also allow for Appellate District Diversity Representatives and the election of additional members to the Young Lawyers’ Section Council who have unique experience and knowledge or who represents diverse elements of the section within the state of Missouri, including but not limited to race, gender, sexual orientation, and disability.

Candidates for YLS Council elections must submit a nominating petition signed by five or more members of the Young Lawyers’ Section.  Those signing must be members of The Missouri Bar in good standing and enrolled and entitled to vote in the relevant YLS Council district.  Electronic submissions and electronic signatures are permitted, using the forms below (YLS By-Laws, Art. III, Sec. 8(a)).  The same forms may also be printed and signed in the traditional manner.  (If you gather electronic signatures, we would recommend using a single form, rather than multiple forms, and having each member sign, save, and forward it to the next person before the final person signing returns it to the candidate for submission.)  Nominating petitions submitted electronically should be sent to the Executive Director of The Missouri Bar at

If you have questions about creating an electronic signature, click here.  If you have questions about electronic signing or submission, send them to  

Save the PDF petition form (do not open it in a browser window) and then open it using Adobe Acrobat or Reader to complete the fillable form and sign it electronically.


Young Lawyers' Section Districts

District 1 - Andrew, Atchison, Buchanan, Caldwell, Carroll, Clinton, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Livingston, Mercer, Nodaway and Worth

District 2 - Adair, Audrain, Chariton, Clark, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby and Sullivan

District 3 - Jackson

District 4 - Cass, Clay, Johnson, Lafayette, Platte and Ray

District 5 - Boone, Callaway, Cooper, Howard and Saline

District 6 - Cole, Moniteau and Osage

District 7 - Franklin, Gasconade, St. Charles and Warren

District 8 - St. Louis County

District 9 - City of St. Louis

District 10 - Barry, Barton, Bates, Cedar, Dade, Henry, Jasper, Lawrence, McDonald, Newton, St. Clair and Vernon

District 11 - Christian, Douglas, Greene, Howell, Ozark, Stone, Taney, Webster and Wright

District 12 - Benton, Camden, Dallas, Hickory, Laclede, Maries, Miller, Morgan, Pettis, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski and Texas

District 13 - Bollinger, Cape Girardeau, Crawford, Jefferson, Perry, St. Francois, St. Genevieve and Washington

District 14 - Butler, Carter, Dent, Dunklin, Iron, Madison, Mississippi, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Reynolds, Ripley, Scott, Shannon, Stoddard and Wayne

Jan. 1, 2024

First day for members of The Missouri Bar seeking election to the YLS Council to submit nominating petitions to the executive director of The Missouri Bar.
June 20, 2024
Final date for members of the Young Lawyers' Section seeking election to the council to submit nominating petitions to the executive director The Missouri Bar.
July 20, 2024
Final date for The Missouri Bar to send notification and voting information to all lawyers eligible to vote in the election.
Aug. 15-31, 2024
Votes are canvassed on a date specified by the executive director of The Missouri Bar.  
Aug. 15-31, 2024
Elections results are certified and announced.
Sept. 20, 2024
Terms of office for newly elected or re-elected members of the YLS Council commence with the adjournment of the Annual Meeting of The Missouri Bar.