Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award

The Family Law Section and The Missouri Bar present an annual award to honor a family law lawyer who has demonstrated an exceptional degree of competence, skill, integrity, commitment, and dedication toward the improvement and advancement of the practice of family law and the children and families involved in family law matters. The "Roger P. Krumm Family Law Award" is given in honor of Roger Krumm, a family law lawyer who possessed all the characteristics, skills, and integrity of those who receive this award.

You may use our online form to make a nomination (available May 1 - July 1).

Nomination criteria should include:

  • Demonstrated excellence in negotiation and trial practice;
  • Participation and leadership in local and statewide family law related efforts; and
  • Demonstrated commitment to those involved and affected by family law matters.

2023 Award Recipient - Mary Kay O'Malley

Mary Kay O’Malley has been the director of the Child and Family Services Clinic and clinical professor since 2002. She obtained her bachelor of arts from St. Mary-of-the-Woods College near Terre Haute, Indiana and her master of arts from UMKC. After working as a social worker for the Missouri Division of Family Services for 13 years, she returned to school and graduated cum laude from the Washburn University School of Law in Topeka, Kan., where she was an editor on both the Washburn Law Journal and the ABA Family Law Quarterly.

Following law school, Professor O’Malley was employed as a prosecuting attorney at the Jackson County Family Court for six years. After leaving the court she was a partner with Raith and O’Malley P.C., focusing her practice in the area of juvenile and family law. Her other teaching assignments include the law school’s Guardian ad Litem Workshop, and she is the legal director of the Kansas City Youth Court program housed at the law school.


Recipients of Award

2023 — Mary Kay O'Malley, Kansas City

2022 — Karen M. DeLuccie, Independence

2021 — Rebecca L. Leonard, Lee's Summit

2020 — James H. Young, Lee's Summit

2019 — Hon. Thea A. Sherry, St. Louis

2018 — Hon. Douglas R. Beach, Clayton

2017 — Anita Rodarte, Lee's Summit

2016 — Alan Freed, St. Louis

2015 — F. Richard Van Pelt, Springfield

2014 — Susan S. Jensen, Springfield

2013 — Ann Bauer, St. Louis

2012 — Patricia "Trish" Scaglia, Independence

2011 — Gary L. Stamper, Columbia

2010 — John S. Pratt, Jr., Springfield

2009 — Larry V. Swall, Liberty

2008 — Cary J. Mogerman, St. Louis

2007 — Allan F. Stewart, Clayton

2006 — Carla Holste, Jefferson City

2005 — Karen A. Plax, Kansas City

2004 — Michael J. Albano, Independence

2003 — Lori J. Levine, Jefferson City