Board Minutes

Board Minutes - March 8, 2013
Friday, March 8, 2013 – 8:30 a.m.

Members present:
Patrick B. Starke, President
Reuben Shelton, Vice-President
Lynn Ann Vogel, Immediate Past President
Sebrina A. Barrett, Secretary

Bevy A. Beimdiek
Thomas V. Bender
Suzanne B. Bradley
Robert J. Buckley
Nimrod T. Chapel, Jr.
Nicole Colbert-Botchway
Dana Tippin Cutler
Genevieve M. Frank
Michael E. Gardner
Wendy Garrison
Robert S. Kenney
Mark H. Levison
Max E. Mitchell
Nancy R. Mogab
Douglass F. Noland
Joseph P. Rice, III
Tricia M. Scaglia
Walter R. Simpson
Antwaun L. Smith
Joan M. Swartz
W. Douglas Thomson
Raymond E. Williams

Members absent:
P. John Brady, President-Elect
Erik Bergmanis
Hon. Richard Bresnahan
Mark W. Comley
Hon. Charles Curless
Joel R. Elmer
Brian Francka
John W. Grimm
James H. Guest
John R. Gunn
Edward J. Hershewe
Hon. John F. Kintz
J. B. Lasater
Gregg F. Lombardi
Neil F. Maune, Jr.
Mira Mdivani
Hon. Mark H. Neill
Brett W. Roubal
Wallace Squibb
Eric J. Wulff

Also present:
Catherine Barrie
Eric Wilson

1. Consideration of House Bill 319 and House Bill 320:

President Pat Starke called a special meeting of the Board of Governors to consider House Bills 319 and 320, which would enact a “Whistleblower’s Protection Act” and, with respect to House Bill 320, would in addition change current laws relating to unlawful discriminatory employment practices as they relate to the Missouri Human Rights Act. Ms. Barrie provided an explanation of the bills and noted that the Executive Committee’s recommendation is that the bills are in scope and that The Missouri Bar should take no position and share the comments that had been received. A motion was made and seconded to find the bills in scope. The motion passed unanimously. A motion was then made and seconded to accept the executive committee’s recommendation. There was discussion among members of the Board about whether the bills affected access to justice and should be opposed on that basis. Support for the bills among some segments of the bar was also noted. After further discussion, the motion to accept the executive committee’s recommendation failed to receive the two-thirds vote of members present and voting.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Sebrina A. Barrett, Secretary